The Labor Tribune

Labor News From Our Region

CBTU hosting 32nd Annual Ernest & De Verne Calloway Awards Banquet Oct. 13

October 8, 2018 by admin in Labor News From Our Region with 0 Comments



The Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU) St. Louis Chapter will celebrate the 32nd Annual Ernest and De Verne Calloway Awards Banquet Saturday, Oct. 13, at the Marriott Grand Hotel in St. Louis.

The annual awards are given in honor and memory of the husband and wife team of Ernest and De Verne Calloway, who dedicated themselves to the struggle for human, civil and Labor rights.

Ernest Calloway worked in the Kentucky coal mines and as an organizer for the Congress of Industrial Organizations before moving to St. Louis in 1950, where he later became director of education for Teamster’s Local 688, president of the St. Louis NAACP and a professor of urban studies at St. Louis University.

De Verne Calloway taught school in Georgia and Mississippi before joining the American Red Cross and traveling to China, Burma, and India during World War II.  While in India she led a protest against the segregation of black soldiers in Red Cross facilities. In 1962, she became the first African American woman state representative elected to the Missouri Legislature and championed the causes of civil rights, equal rights, jobs, Labor rights, fair housing and prison reform.



The 2018 awardees are:

• Gwen Moore, curator of Urban Landscape and Community Identity at the Missouri Historical Society, who is being recognized for her work as a St. Louis African American historian as well as her leadership in the creation of the Missouri History Museum exhibit: “#1 in Civil Rights: The African American Freedom Struggle in St. Louis.”

• James Clark, vice president of Community Outreach for Better Family Life, Inc.,


is being recognized for his more than 30 years of commitment, leadership and dedication to stamp out poverty, injustice and violence in St. Louis African American Communities.

Lorretta Johnson, secretary/treasurer of the 1.7 million-member American Federation of Teachers and CBTU International Executive Council trustee will be the keynote speaker.


The evening will start with a reception and cash bar at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and the awards program at 7 p.m.

Donations for the banquet are $85 per person or $850 for a table of 10.

Make checks payable to CBTU, P.O. Box 5034, St. Louis, MO 63115.

For tickets or more information, call Lew Moye, president emeritus CBTU St. Louis Chapter at 314-495-5635.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Search by keyword
Recent Posts
  • Brandon Flinn elected head of Laborers’ District Council
  • Laborers’ Local 110, members donate $6,766, nearly two tons of food to Arnold Food Pantry
  • Strike authorization leads to new contract approval in southern Illinois
  • VA union files lawsuit against administration for attempting to silence workers
  • IBEW Local 309 honors longtime members with service awards
  • How Labor helped bring down Scott Walker and Bruce Rauner
  • IBEW Local 1 urges ‘Please Patronize St. Louis Pizza & Wings’
  • Trophy Hunts: Teamsters Joint Council 13 5th Annual Bass Tournament
wordpress visitor counter

505 South Ewing Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63103

Ph: 314.535.9660
Fx: 314.531.6131

View Larger Map

Contact us with your comments and news tips!

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Message