CBTU hosting 31st Annual Ernest & De Verne Calloway Awards Banquet Oct. 20


The Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU) will celebrate the 31st Annual Ernest and De Verne Calloway Awards Banquet Friday, Oct. 20 at the Marriott Grand Hotel in St. Louis.

The annual awards are given in honor and memory of Ernest Calloway, former director of education for Teamsters Local 688 and his wife De Verne Calloway, who was the first female African-American elected to the Missouri House of Representatives.

The 2017 awardees are:

• Richard Trumka, president of the AFL-CIO.

• Petee Talley, secretary-treasurer of the Ohio AFL-CIO.

• Martin Matthews, co-founder of the Matthew-Dickey Boys & Girls Club.

Terry Melvin, International President of the Coalition of Black Trade Unionists and secretary-treasurer of the New York AFL-CIO, will be the keynote speaker.


Donations for the banquet are $80 per person or $800 for a table of 10.

Make checks payable to CBTU, P.O. Box 5034, St. Louis, MO 63115. Call 314-495-5635 for more information.


A Calloway Awards ad book is also planned. Full-page ads are $200 and half-page ads are $110.

To place an ad in the book, email a jpeg, Office Word document or Adobe pdf document to Jay Ozier at jayozier@sbcglobal.net by Oct. 12 or call CBTU President Jay Ozier at 314-435-1752 for more information.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here