Metro-East voters have several options for early voting


Illinois Correspondent

Election Day is Nov. 6. It’s important for the Labor Movement that every union member get out and vote.

If you expect to be out of town or otherwise unavailable to vote, you can cast an absentee ballot in Missouri (see related story on this page) or vote early in Illinois.

Metro-East area voters have a variety of options to make voting easy and convenient.

“We’re really fortunate here in Illinois that they’ve made it so simple for us to vote,” said Marcia Campbell, president of Southwestern Illinois Democratic Women and a member of the Southwestern Illinois Central Labor Council.

“You can vote by mail, you can vote early, you can vote absentee if you’re going to be out of the state or something. We really have no reason not to vote.”

Here’s a handy guide to voting early in Illinois:


Early voting began Sept. 27 at the County Clerk’s Office, 157 N. Main, Room 159, Edwardsville, and continues through Oct. 19. Hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., weekdays.

After Oct. 19, early voting will be available at the following locations and times:

Alton – Scott Bibb Center, 1004 E. 5th St. – 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Oct. 22-26; 9 a.m. to noon on Saturday, Oct. 27; 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Sundays, Oct. 30 and Nov. 4; 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Oct. 29-Nov. 2 plus Nov. 6; and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3.

• Granite City – Township Building, 2060 Delmar Office B – same hours as those listed for Alton.

• Edwardsville – County Administration Building, 157 N. Main – same hours as Alton.

• Collinsville – Senior Citizen Center, 420 E. Main St.12-6 p.m., Oct. 22-26 and Oct. 29-Nov. 2; 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturdays, Oct. 27 and Nov. 3.

• Highland – Louis Latzer Memorial Public Library, 1001 9th St. – same hours as Collinsville.

• Bethalto – Village Hall, 213 N. Prairie – 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Oct. 22-26 and Oct. 29-Nov. 2.

• Godfrey – Village Hall, 6810 Godfrey Road – same hours as Bethalto.

• Madison – Venice Township Hall, 910 Madison Ave. – 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Oct. 22-26 and Oct. 29-Nov. 2; 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturdays, Oct. 27 and Nov. 3.

• SIU-Edwardsville – Morris University Center, Willow Room – 12-5 p.m., Oct. 22-26; 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Oct. 29-Nov. 2.

• Troy – City Hall, 116 E. Market St. – 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Oct. 22-26 and Oct. 29-Nov. 2.

• Wood River-East Alton – Township Office, 41 S. 9th St., East Alton – same hours as Troy.


Early voting began Sept. 27 at the County Clerk’s Office Election Department, 2nd floor of 10 Public Square, Belleville, and is open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays through Nov. 5.

Beginning Oct. 22, early voting sites will be available at the County Clerk’s Office,  the Caseyville Township Building at 10001 Bunkum Road in Fairview Heights, and the O’Fallon Township Building at 801 E. State St. in O’Fallon on the following schedule:

• Oct. 22-26 – 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

• Oct. 27 – 9 a.m. to noon.

• Oct. 28 – 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

• Oct. 29-Nov. 2 – 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

• Nov. 3 – 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

• Nov. 4 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

• Nov. 5 – 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In addition, four temporary early voting sites will be available:

• Alorton – Centreville Township Building, 4831 Bond Ave. – 11 a.m.-5 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 20.

• Cahokia – Cahokia Sports Complex, 509 Camp Jackson – 11 a.m.-5 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 20.

• Belleville – Whiteside Middle School, 111 Warrior Way– 11 a.m.-4 p.m., Saturday, Oct. 27.

• Swansea – High Mount School, 1721 Boul Ave. – 11 a.m.-4 p.m., Sunday, Oct. 28.


To vote without leaving home in Madison County, find the online ballot application at, fill it out and send it in. A ballot will be sent to you that you can fill out and mail back. In St. Clair County, the application can be obtained at

[box style=”4″]

Absentee voting in Missouri

Missouri doesn’t offer early voting, but does make absentee voting available to voters who meet one of these criteria:

Absence on Election Day.

Incapacity or confinement due to illness or disability.

Restrictions due to religious belief.

Employment as an election authority.

Incarceration, if qualifications for voting are retained.

Participant in the address confidentiality program.

Accommodations are also made for deployed military and registered voters traveling abroad and to provide access to disabled voters.

St. Louis County will have four locations for absentee voting beginning Oct. 29, with hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays; 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Saturdays, Oct. 27 and Nov. 3; and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 5.

The locations are:

• Election Board Main Office
725 Northwest Plaza, St. Ann

• County Government Center West
82 Clarkson Wilson Center,

• County Government Center South
4546 Lemay Ferry Road
St. Louis

• Center of Clayton
50 Gay Ave.

Absentee votes must be notarized. They may be cast within six weeks of the election. For assistance or more information, contact St. Louis County’s absentee office at 314-615-1800 or the St. Louis Board of Election Commissioners at 314-622-3230 or 314-622-3319.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top