CBTU to honor Congresswoman Cori Bush and State Senator Karla May at 35th Annual Ernest & De Verne Calloway Awards Banquet Oct. 15

The Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU) St. Louis Chapter will celebrate the 35th Annual Ernest and De Verne Calloway Awards Banquet Saturday, Oct. 15, at the Marriott Grand Hotel in St. Louis.

The annual awards are given in honor and memory of the husband and wife team of Ernest and De Verne Calloway, who dedicated themselves to the struggle for human, civil and Labor rights.

Ernest Calloway worked in the Kentucky coal mines and as an organizer for the Congress of Industrial Organizations before moving to St. Louis in 1950, where he later became director of education for Teamster’s Local 688, president of the St. Louis NAACP and a professor of urban studies at St. Louis University.

De Verne Calloway taught school in Georgia and Mississippi before joining the American Red Cross and traveling to China, Burma, and India during World War II. While in India she led a protest against the segregation of black soldiers in Red Cross facilities. In 1962, she became the first African American woman state representative elected to the Missouri Legislature and championed the causes of civil rights, equal rights, jobs, Labor rights, fair housing and prison reform.

This year’s honorees are Congresswoman Cori Bush and Missouri State Senator Karla May.

The event includes a cash bar, dinner and the program. Tickets are $105 a person and $1,050 per table. RSVP by Oct. 7. Make checks payable to CBTU and mail to CBTU, PO Box 5034, St. Louis, MO 63115. Contact Lew Moye at 314-495-5635 or lewcbtu@sbcglabal.net.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top